BRIGHTON PHILATELIC SOCIETY INC 2024 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Tuesday 10 September 2024 at 8pm at BRIPHIL House

1 Welcome: President Deb Harms welcomed members to the AGM & acknowledged Country

2 Attendance: 31 members

3 Apologies: B Fuller, G Davies, J Higgs & M Lawson

4 Minutes: The minutes of the previous AGM held on 12 September 2023 were approved.

5 Annual Reports:

- The President commented on the encouraging membership levels, very strong auction results & the success of our October Fair. Also retiring Committee members Marco Turco, Vanessa Henry & Ray Price were thanked and new Committee member Gerard McCulloch was welcomed. The significant contributions of John Rennie & Howard Ellis were noted
- The Treasurer presented & spoke to the audited 30 June 2024 accounts which recorded a \$5,000 loss. The Property revaluation & ATO changes were noted. Brad responded to questions
- The Sales Branch reported on their successful auction program. David is now the Convenor of Sales Branch.
 The outgoing Sales Branch Convenor of 18 years, Jim Bell, was thanked for his long service and outgoing member of the Sales Branch, Marco Turco was thanked for his efforts over the past years.
- Exchange Branch Metro is now being progressively handed over to Chris Hamilton & James reported on progress of the non metro branch
- Membership now stands at 346, up 10 on last year. Deb reported that it is our social media presence that is driving this.
- Andrew gave an outline of the known & potential tasks that may be required on the buildings

6 Election of 2024/25 Office Bearers: David Shutler was elected President & assumed the Chair. The following were nominated & supported unanimously, Vice President, Michael Tonta, Secretary Stephen Bradford & Treasurer Brad Baker.

8 Election of Committee: The following were elected to the 2024/25 Committee I Sadler, D Harms, C Bromser, J Bell, J McKay, J Marinis, R Newton, C Hamilton A Ballis & G Mc Culloch

9 Vote of Thanks: David thanked Deb for her successful year as President & moved a Vote of Thanks to Deb, retiring Committee Members, V Henry, M Turco & R Price & to retiring Exchange Branch Supt H Ellis.

10 Election of Auditor: Eric Townsend was elected as our Auditor.

11 Honors Committee: No nominations

12 Long Term Members:

- 60 Years
 - Hans Bachmayer
 - Roger Field
 - Michael Halpin
- 50 Years
 - John Tinney
 - Ross Newton OAM

Each were congratulated on their long term continuous membership & will be presented with an appropriate certificate by the Secretary.

13 Honorariums: It was agreed to delegate these to the October Committee meeting for determination

14 General Business: Members discussed a broad range of topics including, the impact of a heritage order on our Buildings, the format of the Bulletin, the high level of building maintenance & whether we should have alphabet displays twice per year. All matters were delegated to the Committee to resolve.

15 The meeting concluded at 9 15pm after which members were invited to view the display of outgoing President, Deb Harms